ChyronHego Forums  

Go Back   ChyronHego Forums > General > Coffee Lounge

Coffee Lounge Sit back, relax, and enjoy a cup of coffee. (Post topics not related to another forum.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-06-2009, 06:54 PM
curtjr4 curtjr4 is offline
Chyron ACG Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4
Question (Legacy) Chyron ACG: Keyboard help?

Hello everyone

I had a question relating to the Legacy Chyron ACG. I don't have a official keyboard for it, so I need to know what's wrong with the 5 pin one I am currently using, or if I need a spicific kind. If I need a spicific one, may someone refer to one? Since I really want to make this unit work! So, heres a video showing what it's doing, and the error it's displaying.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ug9RE50eQVI
Note: You may want annotions turned on.

Thank's for your help!
-Curt

Last edited by curtjr4; 10-06-2009 at 07:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-08-2009, 11:25 AM
Chyron Spock's Avatar
Chyron Spock Chyron Spock is offline
Helpful Chyronite!
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Earth, that's as close as I can narrow it down.
Posts: 390
Send a message via AIM to Chyron Spock Send a message via Skype™ to Chyron Spock
Default

The Chyron ACG keyboard was made by Keytronics, but customized for Chyron Corporation. It looked like a PC keyboard, but was not really. It looked like an IBM 5-pin DIN, but it does not use the standard pin-out.

Without an actual Chyron ACG keyboard, you will not be able to use it. Unfortunately, we have not really done much with ACG in nearly 20 years. Your best bet is probably to find some TV station on eBay ditching old equipment. On the bright side, if you do find one on eBay, it'll probably be cheap.
__________________
J. Marty Dormany
Managing Dir., The Academy of Lower Thirds, Inc.

http://www.academyL3.com
http://www.facebook.com/AcademyL3
https://twitter.com/AcademyL3

Last edited by Chyron Spock; 10-08-2009 at 11:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-2009, 11:29 AM
Chyron Spock's Avatar
Chyron Spock Chyron Spock is offline
Helpful Chyronite!
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Earth, that's as close as I can narrow it down.
Posts: 390
Send a message via AIM to Chyron Spock Send a message via Skype™ to Chyron Spock
Default

http://cgi.ebay.com/The-Chyron-ACG-N...item45ee0434a8

Here is a Chyron ACG for $190 on eBay. You could contact the user and see if the keyboard is included.
__________________
J. Marty Dormany
Managing Dir., The Academy of Lower Thirds, Inc.

http://www.academyL3.com
http://www.facebook.com/AcademyL3
https://twitter.com/AcademyL3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-09-2009, 09:14 PM
curtjr4 curtjr4 is offline
Chyron ACG Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4
Default

Would it be possible to trick the unit into thinking it's the correct keyboard? Or possibly bypassing the test on POST so I can at least see what else it has to offer? Since I don't want to sell it... especialy after all of the work I put into it. If it were ever possible, in which I know it isnt since it's been over 20 years ago, just order one from Keytronics. Well, I guess I am out of luck. I'll just need to browse the internet to findone if I cant trick the ACG.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-10-2009, 08:46 AM
Chyron Spock's Avatar
Chyron Spock Chyron Spock is offline
Helpful Chyronite!
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Earth, that's as close as I can narrow it down.
Posts: 390
Send a message via AIM to Chyron Spock Send a message via Skype™ to Chyron Spock
Default

No, there's no tricking it unfortunately. When Chyron and Keytronics build that keyboard, they put in a custom prom for us. Essesntially the "brain" of the keyboard is very different from an IBM 5-pin din. Best idea would be to find a working one on the internet.
__________________
J. Marty Dormany
Managing Dir., The Academy of Lower Thirds, Inc.

http://www.academyL3.com
http://www.facebook.com/AcademyL3
https://twitter.com/AcademyL3
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-10-2009, 01:36 PM
curtjr4 curtjr4 is offline
Chyron ACG Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4
Default

Would this be a possibility of a place selling a Chyron ACG Keyboard? I can see that they have the ACG keyboard as the picture, but they never respond to any of my emails.
http://www.broadcaststore.com/store/...m?eq_id=455097
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-13-2009, 09:14 AM
Chyron Spock's Avatar
Chyron Spock Chyron Spock is offline
Helpful Chyronite!
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Earth, that's as close as I can narrow it down.
Posts: 390
Send a message via AIM to Chyron Spock Send a message via Skype™ to Chyron Spock
Default

Sure it's a possibility, but do I *know*? No.
__________________
J. Marty Dormany
Managing Dir., The Academy of Lower Thirds, Inc.

http://www.academyL3.com
http://www.facebook.com/AcademyL3
https://twitter.com/AcademyL3
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-05-2016, 06:45 AM
fabio2oo3 fabio2oo3 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 2
Default

hello curtijr4 , i have buy the same titler. but unfortunatelly my have hard disk broken. do you want to sell the hard disk? or if i cant found the software sell to you the keyboard
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-16-2016, 03:17 AM
curtjr4 curtjr4 is offline
Chyron ACG Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fabio2oo3 View Post
hello curtijr4 , i have buy the same titler. but unfortunatelly my have hard disk broken. do you want to sell the hard disk? or if i cant found the software sell to you the keyboard
Hello Fabio2oo3, I sent you a personal message. I'm still interested in the keyboard Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
chyron acg keyboard error

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Copyright 2015 ChyronHego Corporation